Help

Can't find what you're looking for? Try searching these help pages using the search above, or browse our most popular answers below.
If you still have questions, don't forget you can click the support link when logged in, or email us directly at support@tactilecrm.com and we'll do our best to get back to you within 4 working hours (M-F 8am to 5pm UTC, 2am - 11am CST).

Permissions

Deleting Users

Tactile CRM doesn’t allow you to directly delete a user so that you don’t lose the audit trail of work they have done. It does however allow you to disable a user so that they can no longer log in to the system and don’t count towards your user limit.

To do this, simply:

  1. Login to Tactile CRM as an admin user
  2. Visit the admin area and click on manage users
  3. Click on the user you wish to disable
  4. Click on the Disable button

The user will no no longer be able to login and won’t count towards your user limit. You can always re-enable them at a later date too if you need to.

Controlling Access to Contacts

Tactile CRM has a simple permissions system for controlling access to the contacts in your account. But to understand how the permissions system works, you must first understand how the different types of record are related to each other. Organisations, People, Opportunities and Activities are the four basic types of record, and the following diagram expresses the relationships between them:

Record types further down the stack pictured above may belong to any combination of types above them. For example, you can specify that an Opportunity relates to a particular Person and Organisation, or just a particular Person. An Activity could relate to an Opportunity, a Person, and Organisation, all three, etc.

If you would like to control access (that is, who can look at a record and who can edit it) to your data in Tactile CRM, you will need to make use of the permissions system present on Organisations. By default, when you create a new record in Tactile CRM it will be visible by all users in your account, and editable by the same:

Let’s say you have a small team of sales staff, whom you’ve given access to Tactile CRM, but you wouldn’t want to give permission to change any of your contact data. To implement such a restriction, you can use the ‘Access Permissions’ controls present on the New/Edit Organisation forms:

To restrict who has permission to edit this Organisation, you would either select the ‘Just Me’ option from ‘Read & Write Access’, or the ‘Select Users…’ option, then choose appropriately. Similarly, by removing a User’s ‘Read Access’, they will no longer be able to view the record. Bear in mind when selecting permissions that a User with write access will be given read access also.

Organisations are the only record type you can specify permissions for in Tactile CRM, but all items related to an Organisation will inherit its permissions.

Tactile CRM has a couple of features for making the editing of permission settings easier. The first is the ‘Change Access Permissions’ control, present when selecting multiple records from an index page:

This will allow you to change the permissions for a large number of Organisations at once.

The other feature is the ‘Default Permissions’ set of controls, found on the ‘User Permissions’ section of the admin panel. Using this page, you can choose what the default permission settings are for each User in your account, and whether they are fixed or not. User with fixed permissions cannot change them.

This can be useful for keeping two groups of users separate from each other. For example, you may have multiple teams responsible for inputting contact data into Tactile CRM, but you would like to keep each group’s data separate. By setting up the default permissions so that each group’s default read permissions do not allow the other group access, all Organisations and related records will be shown only to their respective groups.

How do permissions on Contacts work?

In Tactile CRM, you can set permissions on Organisations giving access (separately) to ‘Read’ and ‘Edit’ the record.

By default, records you create will be Readable and Editable by Everyone – this means that all users with access to the account.

You can change this to ‘Just Me’ if you want to restrict either Read or Edit rights to only yourself, or you can choose a combination of users and/or ‘Roles’ (groups of users) – by holding ‘Ctrl’ (or the “Apple”/Cmd key) while clicking you can select more than one user/role in the list.

Changing Permissions

Giving access to ‘Edit’ a record will automatically allow the users to see the record, and the owner of the record is always able to see and edit it – even if they set access that would prevent this.

People who are part of a company will have the same permissions as the company. For ‘individuals’ (those not attached to a company) you can decide whether or not they should be ‘Private’. Setting this means only you, the owner of the record, can see or edit the record.

How do I change the permissions of a Contact?

Only users with edit access to an organisation can change the permissions.

When viewing the organisation, click ‘Edit’ at the top of the page and then look for the link that says ‘This organisation is setup to be viewable and editable by everyone, but you can change it.’ to change it.